It is time to wear lip gloss again!!

emilia-clarke-emmys-2016-red-carpet-920x613

Emilia Clarke at the 2016 Emmy Awards, wearing a clear lip gloss

I just realized that I feel like wearing lip gloss again!

Last time I bought one, it must have been about ten years ago! As a teenager in the early 00s, it was in style. Plus, it is not too visible, so my parents considered it age-appropriate.

But afterwards, at least here in France, sometime around, I dunno, 2007, gloss went out of style, and became kind of the epitome of vulgar. Indeed, gloss is supposed to make lips look fuller, so it was categorized as “sexy”. Personally, as I don’t consider my style as “sexy”, I stopped wearing anything shiny on my lips for YEARS. Even for lip balms, I always looked for something as matte as possible. As for when I wanted to wear color, like a lot of Parisian girls, I turned to a matte red.

But then, in the 2010s, the Internet taught us all how to apply make up. Queen Lisa Eldrige explained that matte is actually better to make lips look fuller, because it catches the light as a single area of color whereas shine tends to emphasize any difference in volume (in particular, the limit of the lip).

jennifer-lopez-2016-winter-tca-tour-in-pasadena-day-9-9

Lips overlined with gloss: WRONG (sorry JLo). 

Lip injections also became more popular as a way to make lips look fuller.
And now, “sexy girls” wear matte lips.

capture-decran-2016-10-17-a-18-21-50

Kylie Jenner on Instagram, rocking a matte lip. She was helped by lip injections, but also overlines her lip carefully with a lip pencil

 

Fashion is all a matter of cycles. For something to appear fresh, new and exciting, it has to have been out of style for long enough. Then it becomes fashionable for a while. Then it becomes mainstream, that is to say, people wear it because it is flattering, and they wear it the flattering way. But then it loses its element of novelty and freshness. So we have to look for something else for novelty.

I think that lip gloss fits in this category now. Clear, or very transparent, lip gloss in particular. With or without glitter. It used to be so out that it feels exciting to me now.
On the contrary, a colored lip with a bit of shine never really went out of style (I am thinking of nudes and pinks in particular). Thus, it doesn’t feel strongly either way to me right now. Do you agree?

 

And also, personally I don’t feel like wearing matte anymore because now “matte” is considered “sexy”.
When I abandoned gloss circa 2007, I think that it was partly because I had internalized slut-shaming, so I was afraid of being perceived as “sexy” by society. Now it is not the case anymore, hopefully I deconstructed my prejudice and I really don’t want to judge anyone.

It is just that I am feeling like today, if you want to tell society “I am sexy”, matte will send that message.

ariana-grande-hair-makeup-2016-grammy-awards

This 2016 look by Ariana Grande reads “I am sexy” to me

 

Whereas a clear lip gloss has become less mainstream, so it looks more “I am a cool girl” to me. Not that Kylie Jenner and consorts are not “cool”. There is cool-sexy, and there is cool-I-am-wearing-the-contrary-of-mainstream-sexy-haha-thug-life (hum this reaction might be slightly exaggerated).

 

landscape-1474254755-elle-emilia-clark-emmys-dress

(Emilia at the 2016 Emmys again) To me, this makeup look doesn’t read “I want to be sexy”

(on the Jennifer Lopez pic above, as she overlined her lips, the effect is really different, because it feels like gloss applied the OLD way: in order to make lips appear bigger)

 

So I think that deep down it is not that I really loved gloss (from 2002 to 2007) and then I really loved matte (from 2007 to 2015) and now I really love gloss again. Maybe I’m just the type of people who will always prefer what is not categorized as “sexy” by society. Thus, as society changes, my tastes change too.
(However, I don’t like how flat mattes or silicony mattes make lips appear too dry. If lips don’t look healthy, I can’t like the look).

I do like Kylie and Ariana and consorts!! It is just that my contradictory spirit tells me that, if I want to make a statement with my lip texture, I will look less “conventionally sexy” with gloss rather than a matte lip. Thus, more like myself. Thus, cooler (somehow), because we are always cooler when we wear something that embodies our inner self.

 

Does this make sense?? What do you think? Did you observe such shifts in lip texture trends in your country?

Leave a Reply

